How Do I Get Qualified For A Medical MMJ Card?
Both medical and recreational marijuana use is legal in Colorado. How much you need a medical marijuana card may depend on your personal marijuana needs. For example, recreational marijuana is legal for all Colorado residents above the age of 21. This means that if you are below this age, and have a medical condition that requires the use of marijuana as treatment, you will have to apply for a medical marijuana card (MMJ). Recreational marijuana dispensaries across Colorado, like Cannasseur Pueblo West, are only allowed by state law to sell no more than 1 oz or 800mg of edibles to a single user. People with MMJ cards may purchase 2 oz or more depending on their medical conditions and may benefit from lower taxation on their purchases.
Medical marijuana use in Colorado is governed under the “Colorado Medical Marijuana Code” law. It states that you are legally allowed to use medical marijuana in Colorado if:
- You are a resident of Colorado.
- You are 18 years or older, IF NOT; consent is needed from a parent/caregiver and a complete diagnosis from 2 physicians
- A physician recommends your medical marijuana use to treat either of the following medical conditions;
- HIV/AIDS (Positive Status)
- Chronic muscle spasms
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe nausea or pain
- A chronic disease or medical condition causing suffering
- Cachexia (extreme weight loss)
- Any other medical condition approved by the state health agency
If you meet the requisite conditions, you should find the application process quite forthright. You can fill in all the relevant documentation and mail them to the registry. Alternatively, you can choose to fill them online, which is much simpler. Online applications will take a matter of days to review, and you’ll get a status update faster than the mail application, which can take up to 8 weeks! Let’s go through a step-by-step online application process.
The first vital necessity for your application is a certification from a licensed physician. Schedule a consultation with your physician, who will then take the necessary assessment to gauge if your medical condition or illness qualifies you to manage it by using medical marijuana. If you are deemed eligible, you will be offered a signed certification stating so. You are required to apply within 60 days of the physician’s certification.
The next step is to create your online account on the official Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment website. Navigate your way to the medical marijuana registry subsection and create a patient account. Login to your account and fill in your details as directed. Ensure to have your state ID or driver’s license. Note your login password; you’ll be required to use the same account in the renewal process of your MMJ card when it expires.
After your details, you’ll need to fill in the online portal details of your marijuana consumption. You will also choose your preferred marijuana source, whether from growing your own or dispensaries. Ensure to attach and upload a scanned copy of your physician’s certificate in the necessary tab within the website. If you wish to notarize your application, ensure that notarizing matches the date the notary appends a signature. Notarized applications should be submitted ten days after the notary’s signature. After that, pay a non-refundable application fee ($25) and submit your application. It should take between 1-3 business days to get a response https://www.pharmacybc.com/valium-diazepam/.
If your application is successful, you’ll get approval which you can download and print for use. If you send your application by mail, expect a response after 6-8 weeks, and if approved, you’ll get a physical MMJ card by mail. The card will be valid for one year, after which you’ll have to renew it. You’ll follow a similar process for renewal; only this time, the doctor’s certification will only need to be updated.
Colorado is among the States that accept medical marijuana reciprocity; this means that a person from another State with an MMJ card is free to use it. These are some of the States your Colorado MMJ card will work; Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rio, and Washington.
There are two essential restrictions you should be aware of; a breach of either may lead to the revocation of your MMJ card for one year. First, you must not use your medical marijuana in a way that endangers other people’s health or well-being; and secondly, you must not use your medical marijuana in public view or an open place.